New Members Appointed to Youth Advisory Group to Improve the Education System

A Minister’s Advisory Group that offers young people the opportunity to help shape the education system has five new members, Education Minister Chris Hipkins said today.

“I am delighted to announce that Harshinni Nayyar, Te Atamihi Papa, Humaira Khan, Eniselini Ali and Malakai Tahaafe will join the current seven members of the 2022 Youth Advisory Group,” said Chris Hipkins.

“Since the first meeting in 2018, the ideas of this group have helped inform our work towards an education system that reflects the diverse needs, cultures and aspirations of young people in Aotearoa New Zealand.”

“I look forward to hearing their experiences and insights into the education issues they are passionate about.”

The members of the 2022 Youth Advisory Group are:

Harshinni Nayyar, Whangārei (new member)

Te Atamihi Papa, Te Kūiti (new member)

Humaira Khan, Auckland (new member)

Eniselini Ali, Auckland (new member)

Malakai Tahaafe, Christchurch (new member)

Caelan HarrisHamilton

Jayden van Dyk, Hamilton

Marguerite Tumataroa, Taumarunui

Rei Denee, Wellington

Tanin Cain, Auckland

Harlow Tran-Lawrence, Auckland

Maru Taiaki, Paraparaumu

The Ministry of Education received over 200 registrations to join the Youth Advisory Group.

“It’s a great opportunity and also a commitment to be part of this group. I would like to recognize and thank all of the young people who have put in the time and effort to apply,” said Chris Hipkins.

“I look forward to the first meeting of the Ministerial Youth Advisory Group in July.”

(With contributions from the New Zealand government press release)